Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you ❤ Cookies? Don’t know how to Bake them ? Well I have the answer to these:

These cookies are the best I have made so far. They are the most fudge-y, chewy and chocolaty cookies you will eat and you wont be able to stay away from them!!! 

Screenshot_2014-07-09-00-46-30-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-03-32-1-1_wm

Its been quite sometime that I haven’t posted cookies on the blog. When deciding what next should be coming up on the blog ….. the only thing that was in my mind were “COOKIES”. Its not like, I didn’t try cookies for so long.. but my last attempt was a huge disaster. I am so glad that I finally made the best possible Double Chocolate Chip Cookies. I call them Double Chocolate Chip Cookies because it has loads of chocolate chips inside and on top too. I just cant get enough of chocolate chips ever. After my last attempt at chocolate chip cookies,  I never thought I would be able to bake them ever again. I didn’t follow my regular method of making cookies and instead followed a new technique. I was so sure that the technique would give me the best cookies that I made them double the quantity. To my bad luck, the cookies turned out awful. I added way too much butter to the cookies and they went totally flat and hard as stone. All I could do with them was dump them in the bin 😦

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-16-21-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-15-01-1_wm

I am so happy that this time it wasn’t so. I went back to my method of baking cookies and they just turned out to be perfect. My Double Chocolate Chip Cookies are going to be your FAVORITE. You will love the recipe because it is really simple and like my all recipes this one is EGGLESS too. They BEST part about this recipe is that the cookies are chewy and not hard which is a really common mistake while baking. The outer layer does have a cookie crunch but it is really chewy inside.

P.S- I love my cookies chewy. ❤ If you like your cookies crunchy then wait for my next crunchy cookie recipe. 🙂

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-44-56-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-07-25-1_wm

I added lots of chocolate chips inside the cookies too. I added both while chocolate chips and dark chocolate chips in them. I love the combination of these. But its entirely your choice. You can add either of the chocolate chips as per your liking. The combination just adds more flavor I believe. Though I preferred topping them with ultimate dark chocolate chip cookies. These are perfect to go with your evening coffee or when you want to snack on to something.

P.S- These are perfect for your midnight cravings!!

Baking these cookies is really easy. The preparation time is just about 15 to 20 mins and you cookie dough will be ready in a Jiffy. All you have to do is let your dough chill in the refrigerator for about 1 hour. I know it needs a lot of patience. But trust me you will be way to happy with the final results. Chilling the cookie dough is really important. I would recommend not to skip this step at all. This helps in better handling of the dough and for a better texture. It helps you better in shaping the cookies. Do not over chill the dough…. this will again lead to making the cookies harder.

Screenshot_2014-07-09-00-56-33-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-07-09-00-53-56-1_wm

Once the dough is ready all you have to do is give them your favorite shape and bake them. Although I have all the shapes of a cookie cutter. My favorites are the heart shaped and the star shaped ones. I preferred sticking to the classic shape of chocolate chip cookies that is round. I made them slightly bigger in size so that I don’t end up having more than 1 cookie at a time 😛 The baking time for these cookies is barely 15 mins. Since I like these a little chewy you don’t need more than 15 mins to bake them. Your cookies will definitely become more firm once they cool down. Let them cool down on the wire rack for at least 30 mins before you start digging on them. Be careful while you transfer them.

RECIPE: DOUBLE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Makes about- 15 cookies

Prep Time- 1 hr 20 mins ( Includes 1 hour dough chilling time)

Baking Time- 15 mins

INGREDIENTS:

  • All Purpose Flour- 1 cup (150 gms)
  • Unsalted Butter- 80 gms
  • Cornflour or Cornstarch- 1 1/2 Tbsp
  • Baking Powder- 1/4th Tsp
  • Castor Sugar- 100 gms
  • Unsweetened Cocoa Powder- 2 to 3 Tbsp
  • Vanilla Extract- 1 Tsp
  • Milk- 2 Tbsp
  • Dark Chocolate Chip – 1/2 cup
  • White Chocolate Chips- 1/2 cup (Optional)
  • Salt- A pinch

PROCESS:

1. Rub butter and flour together with your finger until it is combined.

2. Add sugar and combine everything together.

3. Now add Corn flour, Baking Powder, Cocoa Powder, Salt and mix together.

4. Add vanilla extract followed by milk and try to combine all together.

5. Lastly add a mix of chocolate chips and form a sticky dough.

6. Wrap it in a plastic wrap and let is set in the refrigerator for about an hour.

7. After 1 hour, Divide the dough into equal parts and give the cookies a desired shape. Make sure your cookies are atleast 1 cm thick.

8. Place them in a cookie baking tray lined with parchment paper. Leave atleast 2 inches gap between each cookie.

9. Top with Chocolate Chips. Press with your fingers. This step is optional.

10. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 15 mins at 180 degrees.

11. Let them cool for 30 mins before you start digging in them.

Your ULTIMATE Double Chocolate Chip Cookies are now ready.

The shelf life of these cookies are 5 to 7 days. Keep them in an air tight container.

Screenshot_2014-07-09-00-49-52-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-07-09-01-05-45-1_wm

For any queries and collaborations contact me at : cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com

You can connect with me on FacebookInstagram and Pinterest for more regular updates.

COOKINGDIARYBYSHRUTI GIVE AWAY CONTEST

Are you foodie? Do you love going to restaurants, nighclubs, health spas and other premium places in DELHI.Then Participate in the CDBS GiveAway Contest and  You could get a chance to win Exclusive Delhi Platinum Card worth Rs. 6000 Free.

Follow me on Instagram or Facebook @cookingdiarybyshruti for more details on the contest.

Contest New Poster

 

Looking for more Cookie Recipes? Try My:

Strawberry Jim Jam Cookies

Carom Seed Cookies

IMG_20140309_225211

17 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Sugar Kissed Strawberry Cookies | Cooking Diary By Shruti

  2. these cookies are awesome…♥ im gonna try soon but as im new to baking can u pls tell me which kind of baking tin should I use for these …?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Dipped Sweetheart Cookies | Cooking Diary By Shruti

  4. Hey Shruti, these look yum 😀 I’m trying my luck in baking them for my uncle today. However I was kind of surprised that you mentioned cornstarch as an ingredient. My friend bakes and she never used that anytime. Can you please tell me the use of it in this reciepe as we are already using maida? 🙂 thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • HI Akansha,
      Thank u soo much. Cornstarch or Cornflour is used to make the cookies chewy. It prevent them from being too hard and crunchy. As I have mentioned..if you want a bite to ur cookies this is a perfect recipe.
      However..I havent used cornflour in other cookie recipes. you can try those if in doubt.
      🙂
      All the best. Do share the pics.

      Like

  5. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe
    Trying them for rakshabandhan sweet. Is there any extra effort to make them crunchy?
    Because I love my cookies little crunchy then chewy!
    You are true motivation for me in cooking it helps more because they are eggless and in baking it’s very difficult to find most amazing recipis without eggs. Thank you once again shruti😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Vaibhavi..Thank you soo much for such kind words. With readers like you, it really keeps me going. It truly an overwhelming experience to be a motivation to someone. These cookies are crunchy from the outside and a little chewy on the inside. If you like them to be more crunchy then reduce the quantity of cornflour in the recipe. That is a secret ingredient which makes the cookie chewy. I hope that should help. Also baking it for 2 more mins could give you more crunchy cookies. Do share the pictures on instagram. Would love to see it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

