Strawberry Coconut Candies

Festive Season has just begun and so has my cravings for Sweets. I am sure that lot of you can relate to this. My Coconut Candies are one of the easiest and gorgeous looking dessert I have ever made. They melt in the mouth like Candies..And I love that Pastel Color…

Screenshot_2014-09-24-09-08-51-1_wm

Hello Readers,

Festivals are just around the corner. I Love October for various reasons. Firstly, Because its my birthday month. Me and my Sister both have birthdays this month which makes it all the more special. And Secondly, because I love this entire festive feel and mood. Just makes one happy. Feels like there is some kind of celebration going on. I love Diwali and I wait for it the entire year. Festivals around…Definitely means a lot of FOOD around. Sweets, Snacks, Drinks and a lot more just enhance the Festive mood. Navratra ย has begun todayย so begins the Festive Mood.

P.S- Wishing everyone a very Happy Navratra. You can enjoy these candies during your fast too ๐Ÿ™‚

Screenshot_2014-09-24-09-03-05-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-09-24-08-56-40-1_wm

When Festive Season is around, the first and foremost thing that comes in Mind are SWEETS. We Indians love having sweets and I guess we are born with a Sweet Tooth. Our meal isn’t complete unless we have a dessert. The preference and choices obviously vary depending on what one likes but everyone atleast enjoys having sweets. I personally feel that no matter how much we like the doughnuts and the cupcakes….Muffins or Crepes…Yogurt or Ice-creams…. We always have this soft corner for Indian Sweets. Nothing Can beat the flavor and taste of Jalebi…or Shahi Tukdas…or Ladoos..or Gulab Jamuns and a lot more. These sweets are like an integral part of our daily food consumption. I like a few, not all of these..Jalebi and Shahi Tukda being my favorite ones.

P.S- We are all crazy about Indian Sweets. Aren’t We?

Screenshot_2014-09-24-08-59-55-1_wm

This is my very first attempt at making an Indian Dessert an I must admit I was really nervous. My Mom thought I was kidding when I told here that I was making these Coconut Candies. Although, she was really happy and amazed to see them at the end. I was nervous at making them because I really had no idea how are they going to turn out. Baking desserts is my favorite thing to do and honestly, i can come up with any mad idea and creativity but this one was completely different. It was scary because it was my very first attempt to something like this. The only difficult thing in my head was to be able to bind everything together and make perfect candies. I didn’t want them to fall apart.

P.S- To my surprise these came out extremely well.

These candies are sweet..have the flavor and goodness of texture..and above all I have given these candies a twist by adding a hint of strawberry flavor. It not only enhance the taste but also gives it a kick and makes it something amazingly different. If you do not like strawberry you can very well skip adding it onto your recipe. This step is completely optional or you can go ahead and try your favorite flavor. You could add chocolate or mango flavors to these. These sweets are prepared with the easiest and basic ingredients which are readily available in the kitchen for us. All you have to do is be careful while cooking these and you are sorted.

Screenshot_2014-09-24-08-53-50-1_wm

I am sure this is not the first time when someone has seen the recipe of these amazing coconut candies. Its a very common recipe and I know most of you know it. But this is my version of it and I can proudly say that these were amazing. :)If you are beginner at making Indian Sweets, I would always suggest you to begin with this one. They are the easiest desserts I have ever made. They are almost ready in less than 10 mins and can be served immediately too. I have never made something so easy to put through.

Screenshot_2014-09-24-09-00-50-1_wm

I have used a perfect ratio of Desiccated Coconut and Condensed Milk in this recipe. They are the main ingredients that we use in this recipe. All you have to do is cook the condensed milk with the coconut for about a few mins…add in your flavors and you are done with the most amazing dessert ever. I have used Strawberry Syrup to give it a even better flavor which is an entirely optional step. Once they are a little cooled down you can give them any shape of your choice and serve. As you can see, I served the candies in quiet an interesting way. This picture is inspired by a picture I saw on Pinterest with a double coconut layering. I loved it and wanted to do something similar while serving. ๐Ÿ™‚

RECIPE: STRAWBERRY COCONUT CANDIES

Makes about- 20 candies (Medium Sized)

Prep Time- 5 mins

Cooking Time- 3 mins

INGREDIENTS:

  • Desiccated Coconut- 100 gms
  • Condensed Milk-3/4th cup
  • Sugar- 2 Tbsp
  • Milk- 2 Tbsp
  • Vanilla Extract- 1/2 Tsp
  • Strawberry Syrup- 2 to 3 Tbsp
  • Pink Color- A drop

PROCESS:

1. In heavy bottom pan, add the condensed milk and start cooking. Make sure you cook it on low flame and keep stirring so that it does not stick to the bottom.

2. After a minute add 80 gms of desiccated coconut and mix it together.

3. Now add sugar, milk, vanilla extract and strawberry syrup. Combine everything together.

4. Now switch of the flame and lastly add food color.

5. Let the mixture cool down a little before you start rolling them into candies.

6. Make small balls out of it and roll them in the remaining 20 gms of desiccated coconut to add that additional crunch to the candies.

7. You can now store them in a air tight container.

Your Strawberry Coconut Candies are now Ready.

Screenshot_2014-09-24-08-27-21-1_wm

 

For any queries and collaborations contact me at : cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com

You can connect with me onย Facebook,ย Instagramย andย Pinterestย for more regular updates.

If you cook or bake anything from Cooking Diary By Shrutiโ€ฆPlease Share the Pictures on Instagram or Facebook and Tag @cookingdiarybyshruti. I would love to see them. Also I would feature it on my blog.

IMG_20140628_004634[1]

12 thoughts on “Strawberry Coconut Candies

  1. Pingback: Gulab Jamuns | Cooking Diary By Shruti

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Recipes of 2014 (Snapshot) | Cooking Diary By Shruti

  3. I tried this at home.. The taste is awesome but the only problem is I couldn’t roll them into round balls like you have shown. Even after cooling down it was still in semi liquid state.. What should I do now to roll them into balls?

    Like

Leave a Reply

