Gulab Jamuns

Surprising..Amazing..Delicious.. Soft… Sweet..Indian…Easy…Yummilicious…

My Gulab Jamun Recipe defines all these adjectives.

IMG_20141023_163826_wm

Heyy Lovely Readers,

OMG, I can’t believe its been more than 3 weeks I haven’t Blogged. I am sure most you might be wondering where have I dissappeared. Well, I know its not fair and I should have blogged more often. I was too busy this Festive Season. Firstly, I went to a Family Holiday during Dusshera and then so many preparations for my birthday..followed by Diwali.

P.S- Wishing all of you a Very Happy Diwali. May this Diwali bring prosperity and joy 🙂

IMG_20141023_184348

This is my first Indian Sweet attempt and I cant tell you guys how thrilled I was. You will find more of sweet recipes in my blog in comparison to the savory dishes but this one is my ultimate favorite. This one was special because its my first attempt to make an Indian Dessert. I did not want to modernize this because I love the Gulab Jamun just the way it is. I was really nervous before I began this because it was specially for Diwali and I couldn’t mess it up. Honestly, I never thought i would be trying any of this at home. But I just had to do it.

IMG_20141024_143327_wm

Screenshot_2014-10-26-14-51-00-1_wm

Making these Gulab Jamuns at home is really easy. I would never want to purchase it from outside now. These were that good. All you have to do is keep a check on the measurements and the temperature of the oil while frying these…Rest will be taken care of on its own. You will be flooded with a zillion recipes online for Gulab Jamuns but they might be quite tricky and wouldnt be mentioning the Do’s and Dont’s of the recipe. Most of them use Milk Powder..Semolina and Alot of Maida to make it. I did not use any of these. I wanted to keep it authentic. I have used Khoa or Mawa for this Gulab Jamun Recipe along with Cottage Cheese(Paneer).

Screenshot_2014-10-26-14-49-03-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-10-26-14-52-28-1_wm

The main and the most important part of this recipe is to smoothen the  khoa and paneer together to make it as soft as possible. It should form a soft texture without any lumps. Once you have mastered this step the rest of the process is very easy. Make sure they are no cracks formed while you make the balls.

P.S- Make these Gulab Jamuns at home and enjoy them ❤

RECIPE: GULAB JAMUNS

Makes About: 15-20 Medium Sized Gulab Jamuns

Preparation Time- 10 mins

Cooking Time- 15 mins

INGREDIENTS:

For the Sugar Syrup (Chashni):

  • Sugar- 1 1/2 Cup
  • Water- 1 Cup
  • Cardamom Power-1/2 Tsp
  • Rose Water- 1 Tsp
  • Kesar- 1 pinch

For the Gulab Jamuns:

  • Khoa or Mawa: 250 gms
  • Paneer or Cottage Cheese: 200 gms
  • All Purpose Flour or Maida: 1/4 th Cup
  • Cardamom Powder- 1/4th Tsp
  • Pure Ghee- 2 cups (for frying)
  • Pistachios- A handful for garnishing

PROCESS:

1. In a pan add all the ingredients under the Sugar Syrup section and heat them until the sugar is dissolved and a little thickened.Make sure the sugar syrup or chasni is not too thick.

2. Cook for about 5 mins and then keep aside. While the sugar syrup is boiling… Grate the khoa and Paneer together and mash it with your hands for about 2..3 mins. Make sure there are no lumps and it is really smooth in texture.

3. Once the khoa and paneer and combined together to a smooth dough like texture, you can now add the all purpose flour and cardamom powder and combine everything together.

4. Divide the dough in equal parts and make medium sized balls. Make sure there are no cracks in them or you will need to mash it some more to form a smoother dough like mixture.

5. In a heavy bottom pan, heat pure ghee. Keep it on medium heat and once you add the balls to it reduce the temperature to really low.

6. Fry the gulab jamuns in ghee very carefully on a really low flame. It shouldn’t be high at all. Fry them until golden brown and then dip them in sugar syrup.

7. Leave aside for atleast 30 mins so that they soak in the sugar syrup before serving.

8. Top with pistachios and rose petals to serve.

Your Homemade Gulab Jamuns are now ready.

new

For any queries and collaborations contact me at : cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com

You can connect with me on FacebookInstagram and Pinterest for more regular updates.

If you cook or bake anything from Cooking Diary By Shruti…Please Share the Pictures on Instagram or Facebook and Tag @cookingdiarybyshruti. I would love to see them. Also I would feature it on my blog.

IMG_20140628_004634[1]

 

Looking for Similar Recipes..Try My:

Strawberry Coconut Candies

Screenshot_2014-09-24-08-27-21-1_wm

5 thoughts on “Gulab Jamuns

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Recipes of 2014 (Snapshot) | Cooking Diary By Shruti

Leave a Reply

