Chilli Chickpea & Salsa Tacos

Looking for a easy 10 mins starter? Nothing better than a hot serving of Tacos!!!!

Screenshot_2014-11-19-17-32-12-1

Hello All you Lovely Readers,

If you have been a regular reader of my blog, you would know how much I love Mexican Food. Right from Quasedillas to Cheesy Pizza Nachos I have posted quite a few of them on the blog. I love Mexican food because it is spicy and can be made in a lot of universal ways. I mean it appeals to the taste bud of the Asian People I believe.

Screenshot_2014-11-19-17-26-50-1-1_wm

Screenshot_2014-11-19-18-02-37-1_wm

Tacos is one of the most famous Mexican Food. These are corn tortillas folded and  filled with a variety of filling of ones choice and can be made in the most easiest way possible. The best part that I love about Tacos is that it is really versatile. Right from a simple salsa or gucamole to a variety of beans you can fill this up with anything of your choice. It need not be necessarily fancy.

This one that I have made is the easiest Taco Filling and the yummiest one. This is a Spicy Chickpea and Salsa Tacos which is really spicy. You can serve it with Sour Cream or it is even good just the way it is, All you have to do is make the filling before hand and you can just fill it in the tacos and warm it just when needed.

Screenshot_2014-11-19-17-26-01-1_wm

Well, These days a Taco Shell is very easily available in the market. The one I have used for this recipe too is a ready made Taco Shell. Honestly, I have never tried making them on my own. However, If you do not find a taco shell at your place, all you could do is prepare corn tortillas and fold them once the filling is added. I will do a recipe of that sort very soon.

Screenshot_2014-11-19-17-25-03-1_wm

Chickpeas are very healthy. It has a lot of nutrients and can be eaten in many forms. The mixture that I have made for the taco filling is simply chickpea cooked in salsa. It is tangy and really spicy. I will be doing a lot more recipes out of chickpeas.I think they turned out quite well. I though I could make these with only beans but these chickpeas have turned out to be amazing. On my mind, is a chickpea soup and salad. I will try fill those up soon.

Screenshot_2014-11-19-18-00-30-1_wm

Its Day 10 of workout today. Trying to be regular and trying to eat as healthy as possible. I dont believe in crash diet and all. You could just maintain the intake of your calories. Cheat meals are my favorite and its important too, so that you can keep all those cravings aside. I have replaced my sweet cravings with a fruit and it has worked for me. What is you secret mantra? Do share it with me. I will be sharing a few healthy meals that I am eating these days once I complete a month of my workout session. 🙂

RECIPE: CHILI CHICKPEA & SALSA TACOS

MAKES- 6 TACOS

PREP TIME- 5 MINS

BAKING TIME-3 MINS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Boiled Chickpeas- 1 cup
  • Garlic Cloves- 2
  • Red Onion-1 chopped
  • Green Chillies- 2 chopped
  • Tomatoes- 1 chopped
  • Cilantro- 2 tbsp
  • Salt- to taste
  • Red Chilli Flakes- 1 tsp
  • Taco Seasoning Mix- 1 tsp
  • Lemon Juice- 1/2 tsp
  • Black Pepper- to taste
  • Taco Shells- 6
  • Olive Oil- 1 tsp

PROCESS:

In a pan heat oil and add garlic, followed by green chilies and onions. Cook it for a minute or so. Then add chopped tomatoes and all the seasonings. Lastly add chick peas and let it cook for atleast 5 mins. Don’t add water to this mixture because we want the filling to be dry. Lastly add Cilantro and keep aside.

When ready to serve, fill the Taco Shells with the Chickpeas Mixture and bake it for 3 mins at 180 degrees. You can also Microwave it for 90 secs on high.

Your Chili Chickpea & Salsa Tacos is now ready.

Screenshot_2014-11-19-17-32-12-1_wm

 

For any queries and collaborations contact me at : cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com

You can connect with me on FacebookInstagram and Pinterest for more regular updates.

Looking for more Mexican Recipes? Try my:

Cheesy Quesadilla with Salsa

Screenshot_2014-08-20-00-42-29-1_wm

Baked Cheesy Nachos

Screenshot_2014-08-28-01-17-22-1_wm

 

16 thoughts on “Chilli Chickpea & Salsa Tacos

  1. Hi shruti,

    I don’t know if you got my mail i sent recently, i am hoping to post something related to baking and a special personal recipe on someones blog.

    I was hoping i could do a guest post on yours and in turn you could post something on mine or I could repost one of your posts on mine.

    It would really be great !

    let me know what you think
    thank you
    rhea vora
    rheav3@hotmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey rhea…I am so sorry..My email is not working due to some issues…so chances are I havent seen ur email yet.
      Ohhh..that is a wonderful idea. Yes..you could do a guest post on my blog. Since..I have everything planned for my November Calender for the blog..You could probably do a guest post somewhere around 1st or 2nd week of December.
      I hope that is fine with you.
      You can send me other details and a post written on my another email id..which is
      cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com
      Looking forward to it.
      Love
      Shruti

      Like

      • Hi,
        I am so happy to hear back from you, so soon !
        thank you so much 🙂 it means a lot.

        i could send you the write up by next week and we
        could discuss it further.

        thanks a lot
        love
        rhea

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Recipes of 2014 (Snapshot) | Cooking Diary By Shruti

Leave a Reply

