Gujia/Hand Pies filled with dry fruits

CDBS would like to wish all its readers a Very Happy Holi. Celebrate Holi with traditional sweets and drinks with me this time.

IMG_20150305_143251

IMG_20150305_143717

Hello all you lovely readers,

How are your HOLI preparations going? I hope they are going great. Festivals call for traditional sweets and so much food. What is there on your HOLI special menu? Do share with me on Instagram or Facebook and tag me along with the hashtag #CDBSHOLISPECIAL. I am going to do two simultaneous posts for HOLI.

IMG_20150305_143528

If you have been following me on either of the social networking sites Instagram, Facebook or Pinterest you would know that I don’t have much traditional recipes on the blog. I am not very good at it to be very honest. This time I wanted to try making them. When I say try…I did a whole lot of research on how to go about these. Took a lot of help from MOM and finally I was able to do something out of it. These recipes aren’t something special. May be most of you are familiar with it. But as I always say, each one of us can make it differently.

IMG_20150305_145129_wm

IMG_20150305_143734

I will be putting up 2 special recipes for HOLI. Most of you would be making a variety of different sweets and foods for holi but the one special food that i think is made during holi and a traditional dish for holi is the GUJIAS. In other words gujias are similar to hand pies filled with dry fruits mixed in sugar and milk and reduced to make a really dry and consistent mixture. I just recently did strawberry hand pies and this wasn’t tough at all. The process is almost the same. The filling is different though. This is a indian version of pies is all I would say. However, it can be a little tricky if you do not follow the recipe step by step. AS i always say that following a recipe dot to dot is important if you want to recreate something. This one is my MOM’s recipe and I haven’t made any changes to it. I wanted it to be as tradtional as possible.

IMG_20150305_143842

IF you are familiar with making pie doughs then this one wont be difficult at all. All you have to do is make the dough and put it to chill for a bit. Meanwhile prepare the filling and then start making small hand pies out of it. I have made the filling with khoya/mawa and dryfruits along with some spices.

IMG_20150305_142839

Lets begin with the recipe now.

RECIPE: GUJIAS/HAND PIES WITH DRY FRUITS

MAKES: 10 TO 15

PREP TIME: 20 mins

MAKING TIME: 20 mins

 INGREDIENTS:

For the Cover/Dough:

  • All Purpose Flour- 1 1/2 cup
  • Shortening/Ghee/Oil- 3 Tbsp
  • Salt- A pinch
  • Warm Water- As required

For the Filling:

  • Khoya/Mawa- 200 gms
  • Semolina- 1 cup
  • Sugar-1 1/2 cup
  • Dry Fruits- 1 cup (additional for garnishing)
  • Cardamom Powder- 1 tsp
  • Oil to fry

PROCESS:

Mix all the ingredients for the dough and form a soft dough. Cover it with a cling wrap and keep aside.

In a heave bottom pan, add semolina, saute it for a min or two until golden and add khoya, dry fruits and cardamom powder. Just keep it on low flame for 2 mins. Take out the mix in a bowl and once the mixture has come to room temperature add sugar and mix everything to a smooth consistency.

Roll out the dough to a 2 diameter circle and about 1/2 inch thick. Place the mixture on it and fold it to form a semi circle. You can then use a fork to lock the ends.

Fry these on medium flame until golden. You can also bake them at 180 degrees in a preheated oven for 20 mins.

They are ready to serve once cooled.

Note: I have dipped them in sugar syrup after frying but this step is completely optional. If you wish to dip it in sugar syrup too then just boil together 1 cup sugar with 1/2 cup water until the sugar completely dissolves and the mixture is thick. Now dip the fried gujias into them. Take out immediately and let it dry in a butter paper.

IMG_20150305_143752

 

IMG_20150305_143819

 

For any queries and collaborations contact me at : cookingdiarybyshruti@gmail.com

You can connect with me on FacebookInstagram and Pinterest for more regular updates.

If you cook or bake anything from Cooking Diary By Shruti…Please Share the Pictures on Instagram or Facebook and Tag @cookingdiarybyshruti. I would love to see them. Also I would feature it on my blog.

One thought on “Gujia/Hand Pies filled with dry fruits

  1. Pingback: Thandai/ Milk flavored with almonds and spices | Cooking Diary By Shruti

Leave a Reply

