Mini Apple Galettes

Can you wake up to a better morning..than to the aroma of these apple and cinnamon Galettes. I bet not.

Hello Lovely Readers,

IMG_20150325_110255

I can’t tell you how amazing is the aroma of these amazing apple galettes. I just couldn’t hold on for them to be out of the oven so that I could dig on them. These were over in an hour guys. REALLY.
I baked and shot these early morning today. I was craving a warm apple pie since last night and I couldnt wait until morning to bake. I started working on them as soon as I woke up. I think that totally defines a foodie. Nonetheless..once I started working on the recipe, I thought why not make galettes instead of pies because I simply love the rustic look of these galettes. Also..instead of making a whole big galette I went for a single serve one. If you follow my blog you would know that I rather prefer single servings for my desserts. Isnt that good.

IMG_20150325_101403

P.S- The single serve idea behind all my desserts are that I do not like to share my dessert. PERIOD!!

Long ago I wasn’t a fan of apples in my dessert. Even when I went to a bakery I would definitely pick desserts with strawberries..blueberries..chocolate or any other flavor over apples. But once I tasted an apple pie and I thought it was the best. When I first baked an apple pie(click here for recipe) I was amazed with the way they turned out to be. Ever since I have been a huge fan of the apple and cinnamon combination and I look for ways to incorporate them in baking.

IMG_20150325_101236

Coming to this recipe…I believe apple galettes are really fuss free In comparison to apple pies. All you need to do is place your apple and cinnamon mix on a rolled out pie crust and fold the edges. Yes..they are really simple. There is no fuss in making these galettes. You need to have a perfect pie crust to make these. You can either use a store bought crust or make it all by yourself.

IMG_20150325_101147

P.S- You can replace apples by strawberry..blueberry..mangoes..nuts…anything of your choice.

Lets get started with the recipe now.

RECIPE: MINI APPLE GALETTES

Makes-4 to 5 single serve or One 9″ Single crust pie
Prep Time- 20 mins
Baking Time- 20 mins

Ingredients:

For the pie crust:

  • All purpose flour- 100 gms
  • Butter- 40 gms
  • Sugar- 20 gms
  • Salt- A pinch
  • Vanilla essence- 1 tsp
  • Water- 2 tbsp

For the Apple Filling:

  • Apples- 2 medium sized diced or slice
  • Cinnamon powder- 1 1/2 tsp
  • Sugar- 2 Tbsp
  • Lemon Juice- 1 tsp

PROCESS:

In a bowl mix all the ingredients for the apple filling and keep aside.

In a separate bowl..add flour and butter. Rub the butter and flour together until a grainy mix is formed. Now add rest of the ingredients and form a dough by just combining everything together. Dont add excess water.

Now divide the dough into 5 equal parts and start rolling each one into a 4″ circle. Place the apple mix in the centre leaving atleast 1 inch edges to fold. Fold the sides inwards toward the filling.

Sprinkle some sugar and cinnamon on top too.

Line a baking tray with parchment paper and bake the galettes for 20 mins at 180 degrees in a pre heated oven.

Serve warm with caramel sauce or ice cream.

IMG_20150325_002323_wm

9 thoughts on “Mini Apple Galettes

  1. I cant wait for the weekend to try out this recipe! mouth is watering. Just a few clarifications are required-
    1. 20gms of powdered sugar or granulated white sugar?
    2. Do I need to melt the butter before mixing with the flour or can I use cold butter straight out of the fridge?
    3. Once the dough is ready, can I start rolling immediately and add the apple stuffing or do I need to keep the dough in the fridge for 30 mins?

    Also, for the crust, can you share the measurement in terms of cup/tbsp. To be able to measure the 100 gms of flour and 20 gms of sugar.

    Thank you so much.

    Like

    • Hi Della, Oh that sounds great. Do share the pictures if you happen to try them. Okay here are your clarifications:
      1. 20 gms of powdered sugar.
      2. Cold butter straight from the fridge.
      3. Would be better if you could chill it.
      4. This you would need to measure as each cup size is different. I use a cup which measures exactly 100 gms so that would mean 1 cup and 1/5th of that cup would be 20 gms.
      I hope these help.
      Do let me know how they turn out πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hey!! I tried it put today. It was delicious. Unfortunately, the sides that were folded in opened up as soon as I put it in the oven. So the end result was a flat pastry base and apples in the middle. I want to try it again next weekend. What should I do differently to ensure that it looks pretty like yours?

    Like

    • Hi della,
      Sorry for the late reply. I am amazed to the fact that the sides opened. Did you leave a inch gap and then fold? Also you could refrigerate the pies after filling and folding for atleast 30 mins and then bake to ensure they dont open. I hope this trick works. And pls do try again. lemme know how it turns out ?

      Like

  3. Pingback: Apple & Nuts + Chocolate & Nuts Mini Hand Pies – 2nd Blog Anniversary | simplyvegetarian777

Leave a Reply

